Did good customer service end with the milkman? by Roz Usheroff

I was recently rummaging through some old boxes that had been stored in my basement for what seems like an eternity.  You know what I am talking about . . . the hidden treasures of ones past that remain forgotten until we decide it is time to clean out the basement or to prepare for a pending move.

Occasionally, this exercise in purging extraneous “stuff” as I call it, takes a pleasant turn down memory lane.  For whatever reason – and I am not sure about the why and the how it came to be in my possession – I found a copy of a classic Saturday Evening Post cover from October 1958.

Featuring a milkman and a pie man enjoying a good laugh as well as each others product, I couldn’t help but remember what it was like to have milk delivered to your door every other morning.  Our milkman’s name was Myron, and he was as much a part of our daily routine as the sound of the neighborhood kids heading off to school and the smell of fresh toast that had just popped in the toaster.

Of course the milkman’s presence in our everyday lives has long ago faded into nostalgic reminiscences such as this post. The victim of rising costs and as one pundit put it America’s “ubiquitous use of refrigerators.”  Whatever the reason for his departure, the milkman and more specifically what he represented, endures to this day.

Like the jump-to-the-pump Texaco crew that would rush out to greet every car that stopped for gas, the old milkman symbolized an era in which customer service was an inseparable part of their product offering and brand.  Even with the advent of the high speed Internet where dealing with someone from the other side of the world is the same as dealing with someone in the next town over, I believe that we still appreciate the milkman’s attitude.

Happily, and similar to that old magazine cover that was buried deep in a pile of boxes, the enduring value of good customer service might be temporarily lost in the hustle and bustle of a busy life, but it is never totally forgotten.

Just as my discovery reminded me of what it takes to truly make a difference and leave my enduring mark, I hope that today’s post inspires you to ask the question; how can I be of service to someone today!

Milkman image2

In my new book The Future of You! Creating Your Enduring Brand, I share with you the steps you can take to create your enduring brand and bigger future!

Order your copy today through my website, Amazon.com or Smashwords.

Roz 3D Book Cover

30

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

